Need Help? 1-800-645-1030
0Cart Register
×
Tap to Zoom
Saw Palmetto Standardized Extract 320 mg
Saw Palmetto Standardized Extract 320 mg
Saw Palmetto Standardized Extract 320 mg
Saw Palmetto Standardized Extract 320 mg
Saw Palmetto Standardized Extract 320 mg

Saw Palmetto Standardized Extract 320 mg

Item #012295
Potency
Size

Currently out of stock

See other sizes and potencies above, or we can email you when this item is back in stock:


VIEW SUPPLEMENT FACTS Read Reviews

Nature’s Tonic for Men’s Health

Saw palmetto is a shrub-like palm prized for men’s health.** Each fan-shaped cluster of leaves is attached to the stem of the plant by a stalk covered in spines. These saw-like teeth lining the stalk give the Serenoa repens plant its common name, Saw Palmetto.

Native to the southeastern United States, Saw Palmetto can be found growing from South Carolina to southern Mississippi and throughout Florida. The plant bears brownish-black berries that have a long history of traditional use by Native Americans.

The earliest mention of saw palmetto’s health potential in the scientific literature is found in an 1879 issue of the American Journal of Pharmacy.1 Within the next two decades, saw palmetto began to earn recognition for having properties that provided benefits to men’s reproductive health.**1

happy man

Saw Palmetto – Uses and Benefits

The health-promoting properties of saw palmetto come from an oil found in its berries.** The special oil is made up of bioactive components, namely fatty acids and phytosterols.2 Although only 1.5% of each berry is made up of this beneficial oil, it can be extracted and concentrated.2 Puritan’s Pride offers standardized extracts that provide physiological dosages of this important oil and its constituents.

These standardized extracts were designed to promote prostate and urinary health.** Supplementing daily with saw palmetto helps to support urinary flow.** There is good reason why saw palmetto has become one of the leading herbs for men, especially in later years.

Saw palmetto is one of the leading herbs for men, especially in later years. It has traditionally been used to support prostate and urinary health.**

Traditional use claims are based on historical or traditional practices. Saw palmetto has been used for prostate and urinary health dating back to Native Americans and the American Eclectics in the early part of the twentieth century.

The Eclectics were a group of American physicians organized in the 1800s. They called themselves Eclectics after the Greek word for ‘select.’ They believed in selecting the appropriate regimen based on each individual person’s needs. The Eclectics utilized the beneficial properties of locally available herbs mainly from Native American traditions to create health-promoting tonics.3 They created teas and tinctures from the berries of the saw palmetto tree to promote prostate health.**

Spotlight on Prostate Health

The prostate is a male gland roughly the size of a chestnut. It is located at the neck of the bladder and the urethra. The word prostate comes from a Greek expression meaning, “one who stands before” describing its placement directly below the bladder.4 As such, the health of the prostate can impact the nearby bladder and urinary flow.

The prostate has three main functions


1

FLUID PRODUCTION
The prostate produces one of the fluids found in semen that is important for sperm motility and overall male fertility.4


2

REGULATION FLOW
The prostate directs the flow of fluids through the urethra and seminal ducts.4


3

HORMONE METABOLISM
Testosterone is transformed to its more potent form, dihydrotestosterone (DHT) in the prostate.4

landscape people walking
Saw Palmetto FAQs
FAQ: When should I take saw palmetto?

Your daily intake of saw palmetto supplements can be consumed with one meal or can be taken at separate meals throughout the day. The capsules may also be opened and prepared as a tea. We suggest taking saw palmetto supplements with a meal. The active components in saw palmetto are fat soluble and the dietary fat in a meal will help facilitate optimal absorption.

FAQ: Where does saw palmetto come from?

Saw palmetto is native to the southeastern United States. The saw palmetto berries used in dietary supplements are wild-harvested in the US or cultivated in other parts of the world.

FAQ: Can women supplement with saw palmetto?

Puritan’s Pride® saw palmetto products are intended to be used by men to support prostate health.** Saw palmetto should not be taken by pregnant or nursing women. It is important to read all label directions and warnings before use.

References:

  • 1. Foster S. Loveland, CO: Interweave Press; 1996.
  • 2. Fetro CW, Avila JR. Springhouse, PA: Springhouse Corp; 1999.
  • 3. Abascal K, Yarnell E. The Eclectics' plant knowledge. Altern Complement Ther. August, 2006:172- 176.
  • 4. Informed Health Online. Cologne, Germany: Institute for Quality and Efficiency in Health Care; 2011. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK279291/#_NBK279291_pubdet_. Accessed October 6, 2020.

Why Choose Puritan’s Pride?

Getting the most out of life every day is what inspires us to deliver over 3,000 outstanding products that help you achieve your health and wellness goals.

We take pride in manufacturing the vitamins, minerals and herbal supplements that complement your healthy lifestyle, plus we offer essential oils, nutritious foods and more.

So get out there and embrace life… because the journey is your reward.

Icon Hearts

Trusted and Loved
by Generations of Families
for Over 45 Years


  • Highest Quality Vitamins
  • Scientifically Formulated
  • Exceptional Value
  • U.S. Manufactured, Sourced
    from Around the World
  • Delivered to Your Door
Customer Reviews
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Nothing works for everyone but this definitely worked for me. Simply put, I will be buying this for the rest of my life.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not do anything for me I took this product because of what was mentioned in the description. Also the top was not airtight.
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does nothing for me! Have used this product for some time now and see NO benefit-will likely stop using after the current supply is gone.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The products and prices of Puritan Pride, and their online service are good and reliable. I have ordered several item online from Puritan's Pride. Their online service and products prices are good. I will continue online shopping with them.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Knew I was getting a quality product at a great price Just started taking Saw Palmetto a couple weeks ago for prostate support.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I have been taking this off and on as needed and I am pleased.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have been using it for years. After many years of usage, I recently increased the dosage and am satisfied.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product. This appears to be a great product. I of course can't test the consistency of concentration or potency or even efficacy. But it is of consistent quality, and a reasonable dosage. If the potency is accurate, and I expect it is then it makes it easy to get a good consistent dosage on a daily basis. I do wish I could get a full bottle with maybe 500 pills in it. The bottle comes barely 1/4 full it that. So I buy 5 bottles or more every time. Anecdotally, it does seem to work for me.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Good pricing on a great product. Cannot make any claims other than it works for me.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too soon, but hopeful. As the title says and as I knew going in, the results from Saw Palmetto are not to be had over night, but I'm hopeful that as I continue to take them I will begin to see the desired results. I'm only a couple of weeks in, so after a few months I should know more. I can say that the price, product and delivery were all excellent.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well pleased with this product I take this as a suppliment and I am happy with what I see as a result of this product. I make no claims other than I am satisfied with how I feel.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Puritan is always good! Saw Palmetto is good, but for me it work only together with Pygeum! Unfortunately Puritan do not carry any more Pygeum so I must buy it from another company!
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw Palmetto Extract 320 MG Excellent product that was recommended by a professional. The extract is the key and the MG dosage when you buy this product.
Date published: 2015-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have taken this product for over 18 years now. I don't know if this has really helped me to have a healthy Prostate or not. But I am a 73 year old Male and my Prostate is very good for my age.
Date published: 2015-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product its a great supplement,i bend taking it for years!!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and fast shipping I ordered 10 bottles of saw palmetto 320 mg for my father. He is over 70 and quite happy with the products. I will continue placing orders with Puritan's Pride.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product I have compared this product to many other brands. This is a better quality product at less the cost of others
Date published: 2015-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Pleased! I had trouble finding this dosage in the stores. Often would find only 1 bottle or so. With the special offering, I was able to secure a year's worth at a bargain price. I will certainly be ordering more from this website.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle product I took this product for 60 days, then stopped. The difference was astounding! I now order 5 bottles at a time. Great results, great price.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product It seems the gel caps are more effective than the other kind .
Date published: 2015-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Business as Usual Great company, great prices, great selection, very fast delivery. And great customer service! What more could a customer ask for?
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better than raw product in pill form This standardized form is superior to the hard pill kind.
Date published: 2015-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality This is the best of Saw Palmetto product for support prostate health
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended by my urologist When an MD recommends a specific brand and type of natural supplement to enhance more complete urinary voiding, Puritans Pride Standardized Extract of Saw Palnmetto, 320mg, once per day for at least 6 months and longer has shown positive results. Very reasonable price. I buy 3 bottles at a time.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good so far Hopefully this will help me with my getting up at night.
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Effective at Great Prices from Puritan's Pride Very happy with my purchases of Saw Palmetto Extract.
Date published: 2014-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As good as any other This product works better than whole ground herb. Price is better than any other brand.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent products and prices Your prices and selection of products is excellent
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work well, but .... Having used a few other brands of S.P., I know if it's working or not, and Purian Pride's seems to work just fine. But it is a little unsettling to find the noticeable differences in color/clarity from bottle to bottle. Is it really possible to rigidly control quality with that much variation? Don't know.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful Product I used this product for long time geting very good results
Date published: 2013-06-13
  • y_2021, m_2, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_012295, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_puritanspride
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT